Dr. David Margolin Elected ASCRS President

Arlington Heights, IL – Dr. David A. Margolin, New Orleans, Louisiana, was elected President of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) at the 2018 ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting in Nashville, TN, succeeding Dr. Guy R. Orangio, New Orleans, LA.

Other new officers and members elected to serve on the organization’s governing Executive Council are: 

  • Dr. Tracy L. Hull, Cleveland, Ohio, president-elect
  • Dr. Neil H. Hyman, Chicago, Illinois, vice president
  • Dr. Conor P. Delaney, Cleveland, Ohio, treasurer
  • Dr. Najjia N. Mahmoud, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member-at-large
  • Dr. Charles B. Whitlow, New Orleans, Louisiana, member-at-large
  • Dr. Kirsten B. Wilkins, Edison, New Jersey, member-at-large

Dr. Margolin: President

David A. Margolin, MD, FACS, FASCRS, is Colon and Rectal Research Director at Ochsner Health System.

He first served on the ASCRS Executive Council as a Member-at-Large in 2013, as Vice President in 2016, and as President-elect in 2017. During his tenure as a Fellow of the ASCRS, Dr. Margolin has been a member of several volunteer committees including the Healthcare Economics, Bylaws, Public Relations and Website Committees. He is also a member of the Research Foundation of the ASCRS Board of Trustees.

Dr. Margolin graduated from Medical College of Ohio, completed his residency in general surgery at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio and his colorectal residency at the Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans.

Continuing on the ASCRS Executive Council are Drs. Guy R. Orangio (past president), New Orleans, LA; Bradley J. Champagne, Cleveland, OH; William C. Cirocco, Columbus, OH; Arden Morris, Stanford, CA; Matthew G. Mutch, St. Louis, Missouri; Sonia L. Ramamoorthy, La Jolla, California; Stephen M. Sentovich, Duarte, California; Scott Strong (Research Foundation president), Chicago, Illinois.