Dr. Guy Orangio, New Orleans, LA, Elected ASCRS President

Arlington Heights, IL – Dr. Guy R. Orangio, New Orleans, Louisiana, was elected President of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) at the 2017 ASCRS Annual Scientific and Tripartite Meeting in Seattle, Washington, succeeding Dr. Patricia L. Roberts, Burlington, Massachusetts. 

Other new officers and members elected to serve on the organization’s governing Executive Council are: 

  • Dr. David A. Margolin, New Orleans, Louisiana, president-elect
  • Dr. Tracy L. Hull, Cleveland, Ohio, vice president
  • Dr. Thomas E. Read, Burlington, Massachusetts, secretary
  • Dr. Bradley J. Champagne, Cleveland, Ohio, member-at-large
  • Dr. William Cirocco, Columbus, Ohio, member-at-large
  • Dr. Arden Morris, Stanford, California, member-at-large

Dr. Orangio: President
Dr. Orangio is Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery, Chief Section of Colorectal Surgery, at the Louisiana State University School of Medicine. 

He first served on the ASCRS Executive Council as a Member-at-Large in 2010, as Vice President in 2015, and as President-elect in 2016. During his tenure as a Fellow of the ASCRS, Dr. Orangio has been a member of several volunteer committees including the Healthcare Economics, Healthcare Reform, Bylaws and Website Committees. He is also a member of the Research Foundation of the ASCRS Board of Trustees. 

Dr. Orangio graduated from New York Medical College, completed his residency in general surgery at Long Island Jewish Medical Center and completed his fellowship in colon and rectal surgery at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Ohio. 

Continuing on the ASCRS Executive Council are Drs. Patricia L. Roberts (past president), Burlington, Massachusetts; Julio Garcia-Aguilar, New York, New York; Matthew G. Mutch, St. Louis, Missouri; Samuel C. Oommen, Walnut Creek, California; Sonia L. Ramamoorthy, La Jolla, California; Stephen M. Sentovich, Duarte, California; Michael J. Stamos, (Research Foundation president), Orange, California.