Volunteers are at the heart of ASCRS’ existence. Collectively, they accomplish incredible work on behalf of the Society and specialty. ASCRS strives to assure a wide range of committee involvement opportunities for members.

Committee Members and Leadership Policies

On February 21, 2018, the Executive Council approved the Policy for Committee Membership to ensure each committee exemplifies diversity of experiences, competencies and demographics. On February 11, 2019, the Executive Council approved the Policy for the Selection and Responsibility for Committee Leadership within the ASCRS.

Clinical Practice Guidelines

The Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee is responsible for creating and updating practice guidelines to assist physicians in caring for patients. CPGs begin with reviewing the results of a comprehensive, transparent, reproducible literature search which allows for formulation of recommendation statements which are then graded by the committee according to their strength and quality level. In order to be finalized and published, CPGs are vetted and approved by the ASCRS Executive Council and by the editorial board of DCR. Completed guidelines are published in ASCRS's official journal, Diseases of the Colon and Rectum. While serving on the committee, members research and contribute to several different guidelines. The committee actively collaborates with other professional organizations on joint definitions and practice guidelines when appropriate.

Daniel L. Feingold - Chair
Ian M. Paquette - Vice Chair
Scott R. Steele - Advisor
Charles M. Friel - Council Rep
Sergio A. Acuna - Member
Karim S. Alavi - Member
Anuradha R. Bhama - Member
Liliana Bordeianou - Member
Pamela L. Burgess - Member
Joseph C. Carmichael - Member
Jennifer S. Davids - Member
Adina E. Feinberg - Member
Seth I. Felder - Member
Todd D. Francone - Member
Garrett G. Friedman - Member
Charles M. Friel - Member
Wolfgang B. Gaertner - Member
Kelly A. Garrett - Member
Scott D. Goldstein - Member
Lindsey E. Goldstein - Member
Karin M. Hardiman - Member
Stefan D. Holubar - Member
Deborah S. Keller - Member
Sang W. Lee - Member
Steven A. Lee-Kong - Member
Amy L. Lightner - Member
Craig A. Messick - Member
John Migaly - Member
Sunil V. Patel - Member
Vitaliy Y. Poylin - Member
Benjamin D. Shogan - Member
Marc A. Singer - Member
Luca Stocchi - Member
Mark Y. Sun - Member
Gino T. Trevisani - Member
Michael A. Valente - Member
Jon D. Vogel - Member