Volunteers are at the heart of ASCRS’ existence. Collectively, they accomplish incredible work on behalf of the Society and specialty. ASCRS strives to assure a wide range of committee involvement opportunities for members.

Committee Members and Leadership Policies

On February 21, 2018, the Executive Council approved the Policy for Committee Membership to ensure each committee exemplifies diversity of experiences, competencies and demographics. On February 11, 2019, the Executive Council approved the Policy for the Selection and Responsibility for Committee Leadership within the ASCRS.

Social Media Committee

The Social Media Committee's purpose is to support and increase awareness of the mission of The American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons as the world's leading authority on colon and rectal disease through social media outlets. The committee aims to help health care providers who have an interest in diseases of the colon, rectum, and anus achieve high-quality patient care by providing interactive venues for discussion, information, and education regarding all aspects of colorectal disease.

Sean J. Langenfeld - Chair, Current Term: 2018-2021
Kyle G. Cologne - Advisor, Current Term: 2019-2021
Heather L. Yeo - Vice Chair, Current Term: 2019-2022
Craig A. Reickert - Council Rep, Current Term: 2020-2023
Abier A. Abdelnaby - Member, Current Term: 2018-2021
Martin P. Alvarez - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Leonardo A. Bustamante Lopez - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Melissa I. Chang - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Michelle F. DeLeon - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Irena Gribovskaja-Rupp - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Kristina L. Guyton - Member, Current Term: 2020-2023
Wissam J. Halabi - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Aimal Khan - Member, Current Term: 2020-2023
Jennifer A. Leinicke - Member, Current Term: 2018-2021
Jonathan B. Mitchem - Member, Current Term: 2018-2021
Vincent J. Obias - Member, Current Term: 2020-2023
Alberto A. Pena - Member, Current Term: 2020-2023
Lawrence P. Prabhakar - Member, Current Term: 2019-2022
Yesenia Rojas-Khalil - Member, Current Term: 2020-2023
Ipek Sapci - Member, Current Term: 2018-2021
David M. Schwartzberg - Member, Current Term: 2018-2021
Matthew D. Zelhart - Member, Current Term: 2018-2021