Understanding the Effects of the Microbiome in Colorectal Surgery

Date: December 7, 2023
Time: 7:00 PM Central Time (US & Canada)
Moderators: Sonia L. Ramamoorthy MD, FACS, FASCRS; Emad H. Aly, MBBCH, MD, FRCS, FACS, FASCRS, MEd
Speakers: Eamonn M. M. Quigley, MD, FRCP, FACP, MACG; John C. Alverdy, MD, FACS, FSIS; N. Arjun Jeganathan, MD, FASCRS
CME Credit Hours Available: AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™

This webinar aims to provide physicians with the currently available information on the role of microbe on the pathogenesis of IBD, bowel cancer, and diverticulitis, and incorporating the recent developments into their clinical practice to improve patient outcomes.
At the conclusion of this session, participants should be able to:
  1. Understand the role of microbe in the pathogenesis of IBD, bowel cancer, and diverticulitis.
  2. Assess the currently available literature covering these topics.
  3. Incorporate the recent developments in these clinical conditions in clinical practice.

1.pngSonia L. Ramamoorthy MD, FACS, FASCRS

Dr. Ramamoorthy is Chief of the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery and Professor of Surgery at UC San Diego Health System. She completed her colorectal surgery fellowship at Washington University. She is currently the President-Elect of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS), serves on the ASCRS Executive Committee, and is Chair of the Credentials Committee and founding director of the ASCRS Leadership and Professional Development Program. Dr. Ramamoorthy is completing her MBA at the Radys School of Management at UCSD.
5.pngEmad H. Aly, MBBCH, MD, FRCS, FACS, FASCRS, Med
Mr. Emad H. Aly is a Consultant Colorectal & General Surgeon in Aberdeen Royal Infirmary and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer for the University of Aberdeen, who provides robotic, laparoscopic, and open surgery for his patients. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons, the American College of Surgeons, and a Fellow of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons.

3.pngEamonn M. M. Quigley, MD, FRCP, FACP, MACG
Dr. Quigley is David M. Underwood Chair of Medicine in Digestive Disorders, Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Medical Director of the Lynda K. and David M. Underwood Center for Digestive Disorders, Professor of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College at Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas, USA and Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Texas A and M University. A native of West Cork in the most southerly corner of Ireland, Dr. Quigley attended Hamilton High School and Glenstal Abbey School and went on to graduate MB BCh BAO from the medical school at University College Cork, Ireland, where he also completed internship. He trained in internal medicine in Glasgow, Scotland where he also began his training in gastroenterology under the direction of Dr. Geoffrey Watkinson. Following a two-year research fellowship on gastrointestinal motility at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota under the direction of Dr. Sidney Phillips (which led to the award of MD by thesis) he completed training in internal medicine and gastroenterology in Manchester, UK where he served as a Lecturer in Medicine at the University of Manchester under Professor (now Lord) Leslie Turnberg. In 1986 he joined the faculty at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, Nebraska where he rose to become a Professor of Medicine and ultimately served as Chief of Gastroenterology and Hepatology. Returning to Cork in 1998 he served as Dean of the Medical School at UCC for 7 years and was a principal investigator at the Alimentary Pharmabiotic Center (now Institute) since its inception. He took up his current position in January 2013 as the foundation chief of the division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at Houston Methodist Hospital. He served as president of both the American College of Gastroenterology and the WGO and is a past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Gastroenterology.

4.pngJohn C. Alverdy, MD, FACS, FSIS
Dr. Alverdy is the Sarah and Harold Lincoln Thompson Professor of Surgery, Executive Vice-Chair of the department of surgery, vice-chair of research and associate director of the NIH funded Digestive Disease Research Center Core (DDRCC) at the University of Chicago. He is also a fellow of the Institute of Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago. Dr. Alverdy has been continuously RO1 funded by the NIH for over 20 years and has trained over 100 undergraduate students, graduate students, medical students and surgical research fellows in his laboratory. He studies the molecular pathogenesis of infection-related surgical complications such as sepsis, surgical site infections and anastomotic leak. He is past president of the Surgical Infection Society, past recipient of the Ravdin lectureship and Surgical Forum dedication from the American College of Surgery and recipient of the Flance-Karl Award from the American Surgical Association. He is co-founder and chief scientific officer of Covira Surgical which develops non-antibiotic polymer based anti-infective compounds to combat postoperative infection; he and Covira have recently been awarded an R-43 STTR grant to commercialize anti-infective polymers. Dr. Alverdy attended medical school at the Autonomous University of Guadalajara and Loyola University and received his surgical training at the University of Chicago affiliated Michael Reese Hospital. He completed a surgical research fellowship at the University of California San Francisco under the mentorship of Dr George Sheldon and Donald Trunkey. Dr. Alverdy has an active practice involving minimally invasive/robotic surgery of esophagus, stomach and pancreatobiliary tree.    

2.pngN. Arjun Jeganathan, MD, FASCRS
Dr. Jeganathan is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Surgical Director of IBD at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. He completed his training in general surgery at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA, and colorectal surgery at the Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, OH. Dr. Jeganathan maintains a research interest in the basic and translational science of diseases of the colon & rectum, most notably diverticular disease.

Accreditation Statement

ACCME-accredited-provider-full-color-SM-Size.jpgThe American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education (CME) for physicians. 

Designation Statement

ASCRS designates this live activity for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits(s)TM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

American Board of Surgery (ABS) Continuous Certification

Successful completion of this CME activity, which includes participation in the evaluation component, enables the learner to earn credit toward the CME requirement(s) of the American Board of Surgery’s Continuous Certification program. It is the CME activity provider's responsibility to submit learner completion information to ACCME for the purpose of granting ABS credit.

Disclosures (PDF)

Non-Members: $50