Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium

Join us in Boston for the premiere discussions on pelvic floor disorders, for two days of lectures and workshops at the Pelvic Floor Festival. This festival consists of the 4th Annual Meeting of the Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium, followed by two symposia and six available workshops.

Register for the Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium, symposia and workshops.

Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium 2020 Annual Meeting

Friday, June 5, 2020, 7:30am - 5:00pm
Evaluation and Treatment of Multicompartment Pelvic Organ Prolapse

View the agenda.

With representatives from different subspecialties, the Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium takes a multidisciplinary approach to enhancing patient care. For 2020, the spotlight will be on multicompartment pelvic organ prolapse (POP). Members of the Pelvic Floor Consortium will convene for a full day of discussion of the best algorithms of care for patients presenting with multicompartment POP. Join us for this important day of discussion, debate, and consensus.

Symposia and Workshops

Saturday, June 6, 2020

7:30 am – Noon
Symposium: Advanced Methods for the Management of Ventral Rectopexy
Symposium: How to Grow Your Pelvic Floor Practice: From Solo to Center

1:00 – 3:00 pm
Hands-on Workshop: Advanced Methods for the Management of Ventral Rectopexy
Hands-on Workshop: Advanced Ultrasound Anal Sphincter Imaging and the Imaging of the Pelvic Floor
Hands-on Workshop: Anorectal Physiology Testing and Sacral Nerve Stimulation

3:30 – 5:30 pm
Hands-on Workshop: Advanced Methods for the Management of Ventral Rectopexy
Hands-on Workshop: Advanced Ultrasound Anal Sphincter Imaging and the Imaging of the Pelvic Floor
Hands-on Workshop: Anorectal Physiology Testing and Sacral Nerve Stimulation

Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium Charter

ASCRS has created a Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium to enhance the care of patients in a multidisciplinary approach.

The Pelvic Floor Disorders Consortium works with the Research Foundation of the ASCRS, other appropriate ASCRS committees and with representatives of all other disciplines involved in the care of patients with pelvic floor disorders to promote the care of these patients, create and evaluate educational programs, clinical guidelines and algorithms of care through clinical collaboration and research.

By adopting standard measures across multiple disciplines, we hope to facilitate the collaborative pooling of data in meta-analyses and allow more effective comparison of results. This is precisely the kind of multidisciplinary effort – involving input from multiple subspecialists – that the Consortium was created to do. We hope that you will attend to provide your input on which instruments we should use consistently going forward. 

We aim to:

  • Provide a forum within the surgical community for critical discussion on the investigation, diagnosis, and management of pelvic floor disorders.
  • Facilitate outreach and exchange of information with other disciplines and with other specialized societies that are currently addressing pelvic floor topics from a non-surgical or non-colorectal perspective.
  • Respond to the work being done and positions being taken by these other specialized societies and develop collaborative strategies that properly reflect the interdisciplinary nature of the field.
  • Set standards of pelvic floor investigation and management within our subspecialty and within the entire clinical field.
  • Support collaborative clinical trials focusing on colorectal topics in the area of pelvic floor disorders.
  • Facilitate the international exchange of information on pelvic floor disorders through outreach to similar surgical organizations in Europe, Asia, Australia and the Americas.
  • Promote research collaborative efforts and have a team that could secure research funding.
  • Support education and training on pelvic floor topics during and after colorectal fellowship.
  • Provide a platform for patient education.

To join the Consortium and receive future E-mail communications from us, please click here. 

ASCRS Steering Committee on Pelvic Floor Disorders 

Chair: Liliana Bordeianou, MD
Vice Chair: Sarah Vogler, MD, MBA
Council Rep: Arden Morris, MD

Committee Members: 
Mitchell Bernstein, MD
Elisa Birnbaum, MD
Joseph Carmichael, MD
Kelly Garrett, MD
Brooke Gurland, MD
Alex Ky, MD
Nathalie Mantilla, MD
Shane McNevin, MD
Anders Mellgren, MD, PhD
Lucia Oliveira, MD
Ian Paquette, MD
Amy Thorsen, MD
Madhulika Varma, MD
Steven Wexner, MD. PhD (Hon)
Massarat Zutshi, MD