ASCRS Welcomes Dr. Tracy L. Hull as President

Oakbrook Terrace, IL – The American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) is pleased to announce Tracy Hull, MD, FACS, FASCRS, a surgeon at Cleveland Clinic, as its 2019-2020 president. Dr. Hull joins the ASCRS executive council to begin her presidential term at the 2019 ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting in Cleveland, Ohio.

"It is an honor to lead this exceptional organization," said Dr. Hull. "I look forward to helping colon and rectal surgeons utilize their unique knowledge and skills to improve patient care."

Dr. Hull has been staff surgeon in the Department of Colorectal Surgery at Cleveland Clinic since 1993. She is the section chief of inflammatory bowel disease within the department and holds the Thomas and Sandra Sullivan Family Endowed Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease. She is also a professor of surgery at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine.

Dr. Hull takes care of patients with all forms of colorectal disease and has a special interest in redo pelvic surgery, including redo pelvic pouches. She also specializes in surgically treating patients with ulcerative colitis, Crohn’s disease, and pelvic floor dysfunction.

She has authored many peer-reviewed articles and book chapters and edited two textbooks on colon and rectal surgery. She speaks at major meetings around the world. Dr. Hull is active in numerous professional societies, including Alpha Omega Alpha and the American College of Surgeons. She has served as secretary for ASCRS and as chair of the written examination committee for the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery. Dr. Hull is the third female president of ASCRS, after Ann C. Lowry, MD, from 2005 to 2006, and Patricia L. Roberts, MD, from 2016 to 2017.

Joining her as newly elected members of the ASCRS executive council are:

  • President-elect: Neil H. Hyman, MD
  • Vice president: Thomas E. Read, MD
  • Secretary: Matthew G. Mutch, MD
  • Treasurer: Conor P. Delaney, MD, PhD
  • Member-at-large: Charles M. Friel, MD
  • Member-at-large: Jan Rakinic, MD
  • Member-at-large: Sharon L. Stein, MD

Also returning to continue their terms in 2019 and 2020:

  • Past president: David A. Margolin, MD,
  • Research Foundation president: Scott Strong, MD
  • Member-at-large: Bradley J. Champagne, MD
  • Member-at-large: William C. Cirocco, MD
  • Member-at-large: Arden M. Morris, MD
  • Member-at-large: Najjia N. Mahmoud, MD
  • Member-at-large: Charles B. Whitlow, MD
  • Member-at-large: Kristen B. Wilkins, MD

About the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS)

ASCRS is the premier society for colon and rectal surgeons and other surgeons dedicated to advancing the understanding, prevention and treatment of diseases and disorders of the colon, rectum and anus. ASCRS promotes patient-centered, high quality, high value health care through education, research and professional development. Its board-certified colon and rectal surgeons complete a residency in general surgery, plus an additional year in colon and rectal surgery, and pass an intensive examination conducted by the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery. For more information, visit


Return to News Page