ASCRS Matching Gift Program

DAVEM-(1).pngIn appreciation of Dr. David Margolin, ASCRS is pleased to support establishment of the Dr. David Allen Margolin Endowed Professorship at Oschner Health.

Contributions totaling up to $10,000 received from ASCRS members by June 30, 2020 will be matched by the Society.

Just last year, Dave spoke at the ASCRS Annual Scientific Meeting about his recent medical challenges. He encouraged us to find humor wherever possible, to give generously and receive graciously, and to remember what is really important in life.

We appreciate your support in furthering the legacy of a man who meant so much to so many. The interest on the fund would cover an esteemed faculty member’s salary, helping ensure the level of excellence Dave has brought to the department will continue. You can make a contribution to the endowed fund now on Ochsner Health’s website. 

As you consider your level of giving, you are encouraged you to listen to his address. Dave’s story bears repeating. He was always there for others. Now is the time for us to be there in return.

Coffee With Experts - Lectures for Coloproctology Residents and Fellows

Nueva Proctologia (Argentina) is bringing together coloproctology experts, including select ASCRS members, to present a virtual lecture series for colorectal residents, fellows and surgeons starting Monday, May 18. Lecturers are both national and international surgeons covering current industry topics. Translation is available and registration is free.

See the schedule of lecturers.

Young Surgeon Spotlight: John V. Gahagan, M.D.

Where do you practice?Young-Surgeon-Spotlight-(1).jpg
Clinical Assistant Professor
Stanford Hospital, Stanford California
Stanford ValleyCare Hospital, Pleasanton, California
Why are you a member of ASCRS? 
ASCRS gives me a sense of community with other colorectal surgeons. I enjoy the opportunities to collaborate with others, to share ideas and insights, and to learn from everyone else. ASCRS is the best way to stay up to date on the next most exciting and interesting thing in colorectal surgery. With the meetings, research initiatives and educational opportunities, ASCRS gives me a sense of family and the tools to ensure I am providing the most current and sound care to my patients. I love being a part of a group that is as excited about colorectal surgery as I am. 
Why did you specialize in colorectal surgery? 
When I started general surgery residency, I was not sure what future career path I would choose. I had the fortune to learn from some great colorectal surgeons (Dr. Michael Stamos, Dr. Alessio Pigazzi, Dr. Joseph Carmichael and Dr. Steve Mills), and I was inspired by their compassion, dedication, skill, and leadership. What is most exciting about colorectal surgery to me is the ability to have an impact on both the well being and the quality of life of a patient. Colorectal surgery is a field that is constantly innovating and improving. I can not imagine doing anything else. 

A Celebration of Life - Dr. David Margolin

We have scheduled a Celebration of Dr. David Margolin’s life (Zoom platform) on Thursday, May 7 beginning at 8:00 PM (EDT), 7:00 PM (CDT), 6:00 PM (MDT), and 5:00 PM (PDT). We anticipate the Celebration to last between one and two hours. Registration is not required.
Speakers will include:
Daniel Carey, MD
Secretary of Health and Human Services, State of Virginia
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20

Eric Ehrensing, MD
Vice Chair Infectious Disease, Ochsner Health System
Medical Director of Utilization Management, Ochsner Clinic Foundation
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
Umesh N. Khot, MD
Vice Chairman of the Robert and Suzanne Tomsich Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
Timothy Lyons, MD
Chief Medical Officer, St Helena Hospital
Adventist Health System
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
Benjamin Schwartz, MD
Regional Director of Obstetrics & Gynecology for the Northwell Health Eastern Region
Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Northwell Health Southside Hospital
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
David E Stein, MD
Regional Chief of Surgery, Baltimore, MedStar Health System
Chair of Surgery Franklin Square Medical Center
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20

Many ASCRS members will recall the grace, joy and courage David displayed in his presidential address at ASCRS annual meeting in Cleveland last year. He was then and will always be among friends.

If you are interested in making a memorial donation, Ochsner has established an endowed professorship in Dr. Margolin's honor. You can make an online donation here.

 Margolin Life Celebration Images
Watch the Recorded Life Celebration

ASCRS Past President, David Margolin, Passes Away

It is with deep sorrow that we let our ASCRS community know that ASCRS Immediate Past President David Margolin passed away this morning – peacefully and surrounded by his family. So many of you will recall the grace, joy and courage that David displayed in his presidential address at ASCRS annual meeting in Cleveland last year. He was then and will always be among friends.

Please keep Dr. Margolin’s family in your thoughts and prayers. ‚Äč

Members of the ASCRS Executive Council, Research Foundation Board of Directors and the ASCRS staff

ASCRS 2019 Presidential Address: David Margolin

Displaying results 21-25 (of 257)
 |<  <  1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10  >  >|