News Items

Young Surgeon Spotlight: John V. Gahagan, M.D.

Where do you practice?Young-Surgeon-Spotlight-(1).jpg
Clinical Assistant Professor
Stanford Hospital, Stanford California
Stanford ValleyCare Hospital, Pleasanton, California
Why are you a member of ASCRS? 
ASCRS gives me a sense of community with other colorectal surgeons. I enjoy the opportunities to collaborate with others, to share ideas and insights, and to learn from everyone else. ASCRS is the best way to stay up to date on the next most exciting and interesting thing in colorectal surgery. With the meetings, research initiatives and educational opportunities, ASCRS gives me a sense of family and the tools to ensure I am providing the most current and sound care to my patients. I love being a part of a group that is as excited about colorectal surgery as I am. 
Why did you specialize in colorectal surgery? 
When I started general surgery residency, I was not sure what future career path I would choose. I had the fortune to learn from some great colorectal surgeons (Dr. Michael Stamos, Dr. Alessio Pigazzi, Dr. Joseph Carmichael and Dr. Steve Mills), and I was inspired by their compassion, dedication, skill, and leadership. What is most exciting about colorectal surgery to me is the ability to have an impact on both the well being and the quality of life of a patient. Colorectal surgery is a field that is constantly innovating and improving. I can not imagine doing anything else. 

A Celebration of Life - Dr. David Margolin

We have scheduled a Celebration of Dr. David Margolin’s life (Zoom platform) on Thursday, May 7 beginning at 8:00 PM (EDT), 7:00 PM (CDT), 6:00 PM (MDT), and 5:00 PM (PDT). We anticipate the Celebration to last between one and two hours. Registration is not required.
Speakers will include:
Daniel Carey, MD
Secretary of Health and Human Services, State of Virginia
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20

Eric Ehrensing, MD
Vice Chair Infectious Disease, Ochsner Health System
Medical Director of Utilization Management, Ochsner Clinic Foundation
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
Umesh N. Khot, MD
Vice Chairman of the Robert and Suzanne Tomsich Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
Timothy Lyons, MD
Chief Medical Officer, St Helena Hospital
Adventist Health System
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
Benjamin Schwartz, MD
Regional Director of Obstetrics & Gynecology for the Northwell Health Eastern Region
Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Northwell Health Southside Hospital
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20
David E Stein, MD
Regional Chief of Surgery, Baltimore, MedStar Health System
Chair of Surgery Franklin Square Medical Center
MHCM Harvard Cohort 20

Many ASCRS members will recall the grace, joy and courage David displayed in his presidential address at ASCRS annual meeting in Cleveland last year. He was then and will always be among friends.

If you are interested in making a memorial donation, Ochsner has established an endowed professorship in Dr. Margolin's honor. You can make an online donation here.

 Margolin Life Celebration Images
Watch the Recorded Life Celebration

ASCRS Past President, David Margolin, Passes Away

It is with deep sorrow that we let our ASCRS community know that ASCRS Immediate Past President David Margolin passed away this morning – peacefully and surrounded by his family. So many of you will recall the grace, joy and courage that David displayed in his presidential address at ASCRS annual meeting in Cleveland last year. He was then and will always be among friends.

Please keep Dr. Margolin’s family in your thoughts and prayers. ‚Äč

Members of the ASCRS Executive Council, Research Foundation Board of Directors and the ASCRS staff

ASCRS 2019 Presidential Address: David Margolin

ASCRS Young Surgeon Spotlight: Wissam J Halabi, M.D.

YSS.jpgWhere do you practice?  
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery
University of California Davis
Sacramento, California

Why I am a member of ASCRS:  
It is like being part of a big family, a close knit group. It is a feeling I had when I went to my first ASCRS meeting in 2013: a sense of belonging to a group who treat serious condition while being down to earth and fun to work with.  ASCRS provides great educational opportunities to surgeons and patients and the opportunity to advance the specialty through research and innovation. It is a great opportunity to meet friends and colleagues from all over the world who share the same passion. Meetings are super fun !
Why did you specialize in colorectal surgery? 
It is a great specialty that offers a lot of procedural diversity from good old open complex cases to cutting edge minimally invasive laparoscopic and robotic cases, anorectal procedures and scopes. The wide range of disease processes you’re treating, the ability to make a difference in your patients lives and be able to see it. During my research years, I had the opportunity of having great mentors who had a lot of influence on my career choices. It is the people you identify with. Most importantly, it is the ability to express your maximum potential not just a surgeon, but as a physician and most importantly as human being.
What do you want your patients to know about you? I like to deliver individualized care, treating the patient as a whole considering their goals, their lifestyles, their social surroundings rather than just their disease process.  Individualized care that is evidence-based delivered with a smile and a twist of humor (when appropriate).
What advice do you have for future colorectal surgeons?  
Remember the AAA of excellence when starting your career. 1) Availability: “Happy to Help” your patients, colleagues and most importantly your family. 2) Ability: strive to be technically the best you can, be innovative and push the limit safely, and most importantly know when not to operate. 3) Affability: be compassionate, show empathy and always keep a beautiful smile and a good sense of humor. Always call your mentors and friends for medical and personal advice. Don’t feel alone, we have a great opportunity to live in a world where we’re all connected by social media, internet etc… You need a second or a third opinion ? you can get it through social media or by calling friends. The technical aspects of an operation are the easiest part of the whole process. It is knowing who benefits from which procedure that comes with time. An operation does not start in the operating room, it starts when you meet the patient in the office, the ED or in the hospital. It is the preparation for a procedure that gives you the best outcomes. Always be humble:  whenever you feel you’re above the clouds, this one case will come and humble you.
Tell us something about yourself that we might not otherwise know: 
I love cooking , it is where I can express a lot of creativity! My area of expertise is Mediterranean and Lebanese cuisine. Lots of high octane fiber and and garlic, good for your bowels !

Management of Endoscopes, Endoscope Reprocessing, and Storage Areas During the COVID-19 Pandemic


This document is a joint statement and provides best practice recommendations with respect to endoscope handling, endoscope reprocessing, and storage area management during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Displaying results 41-45 (of 275)
 |<  <  5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14  >  >|