News Items

ASCRS Leader Receives 2018 Sherman Prize

Becoming the first surgeon to receive a Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn's and Colitis, Dr. Amy Lightner was awarded with the 2018 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize at the AIBD conference on December 13, 2018, for her achievements pushing the boundaries of minimally invasive surgery and exploring regenerative cellular and acellular therapies to help manage some of the most difficult complications of Crohn's disease. Dr. Lightner is an assistant professor of surgery at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and the associate chair of the ASCRS IBD Committee. Learn more about her work.

Every year, two $100,000 Sherman Prizes are awarded to individuals with extraordinary track records of achievement transforming IBD care and inspiring tomorrow’s innovators. A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an individual making impressive contributions early in his or her career and demonstrating strong potential to make an even greater impact in the future. Help more surgeons get recognized by nominating a peer or colleague for the 2019 prize.

In Memoriam: Dr. Pedro Juan Soberanis Aguilar

Dr. Pedro Juan Soberanis Aguilar,70, of Merida, Yucatan, Mexico and Columbus, Ohio passed away peacefully on December 8, 2018, surrounded by family. He battled lung and brain cancer. He is survived by his wife, Aireen, daughter Angelia and son Alain.

Dr. Aguilar practiced as a Colon and Rectal Surgeon for 37 years. He served as program director of the Colon and Rectal Surgery Residency program at Grant Medical Center from 1991-2015 and associate director from 2015 -2017. As program director, he dedicated his time, knowledge and support to the training and mentoring of over 70 colon and rectal fellows.

In addition to his work at Grant Medical Center, Dr. Aguilar participated in medical mission trips to the Philippines, and Mexico. He also served as the health advisor fo the Latino Empowerment Outreach Network.

He also enjoyed tailgating at OSU football games, cheering for the Columbus Clippers, Crew. Bluejackets. As well as listening to mariachi bands and jazz concerts.

ACS/ASCRS Brandeis Leadership in Health Policy Scholarship

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ACS) are supporting the annual health policy scholarship to attend the Executive Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management. The scholarship is a unique opportunity to learn more about health care delivery, policy and reform.

Open to members of ASCRS and ACS residing in the United States, the scholarship supports attendance to the "Executive Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management," at Brandeis University, June 2 – 8, 2019. The 2019 recipient will receive $8,000 to be used toward the cost of tuition, travel, housing, and subsistence during the program.

Applicants must be members in good standing of both organizations and be between 30 and 60 years of age. Specific requirements for the Health Policy Scholarship are available online. For more information, please visit the Brandeis University website. The deadline for receipt of all application materials is February 1, 2019. Applicants will be notified of the outcome of the selection committee's decision by early April 2019.

Applications should be submitted as a single PDF file via email to:[email protected].

Questions may be directed to the ACS Scholarships Administrator at (312) 202-5281.


Displaying results 301-303 (of 303)
 |<  <  52 - 53 - 54 - 55 - 56 - 57 - 58 - 59 - 60 - 61 >  >|